top of page

Dragon Boat

*my blog turns one! thanks for coming along <3


“Hold the pool noodle between your arms so that it forms a handle behind you, and then the group makes a dragon boat. Now, swim!”


That was my enthu cutlet swim class instructor. I loved getting back to swimming after a decade; taking to water like a duck. My first swim lessons were at the Ernakulam Regional Sports Center, from an instructor who was locally famous for flinging the kids into the deep end of the pool. My sister is known to have outsmarted him, by slyly walking around the edge of the pool to join the “flung kids” line from the “terrified and yet to be flung kids” line. We watched way too much Mr. Bean growing up.


It’s a new year, 2024, year of the dragon as per all the decorative cookies being sold around me. I tried to do the touristy basic thing and watch the NYE countdown from Marina Bay, ideally from the waterfront. Turns out 11PM is a bit too late to try and get a good spot, even if you bicycle through. I was stuck in the crowds, with a view of the fireworks partly shielded by the Art and Science Museum. It was still nice to countdown with hundreds of people to welcome the new year, but I was mostly distracted by the fact that I was surrounded by, well, way too many drunk men with cameras out.


Undoubtedly Singapore is a very safe city, but that’s not what goes through a claustrophobic lone woman’s mind – it was like everything I don’t like about India was concentrated in one place and I voluntarily went right there (my mother is going to say “I told you so” as she reads this).  I was also disappointed that a certain representation of my country was being made in front of all the non-Indian tourists and locals present. I wonder how a government, or a society can combat unruly behavior like this, for I don’t even know how one can be comfortable making others uncomfortable. Aren’t they aware, or do they just not care?


All the plans of sitting by the waterfront and writing in my journal went right out the window, as my night was spent anxiously trying to get home safe. That’s what I mostly learnt this year, a lot of times – things don’t go according to plan. Life used to be a perfectly planned and executed project, but as one of my profs said, I am very lucky that it worked out that way for me.


What does one do when something is out of your hands? You tap into the resilience within yourself – first, you need to learn to be enough. Taking care of your health, doing things that feed your brain and soul. Second, build your safe space like your home and your support system, be it family or friends. And third, let go. I’m sure 90% of Indian family property disputes could be solved if people could just let go. We rarely stop to think that others are humans too, its their first time on this planet too; who are doing what they think is right and can make mistakes.


What I missed most in the second half of 2023 were the communal meals – be it the simple and delicious Konkani food with family or the campus fare at Kamala’s and Radhika’s with my friends. Discussing class grades, political ideologies, campus rumors or financial investments sparks a lot more joy than any Netflix show. It’s the price one pays when moving out of your country – yes, you travel the world, explore cities, meet new people, widen your horizons. The song Kabira takes new meaning, am I selfish in letting go of my tribe to pursue my dreams? It’s still nice to make connections between cultures though– dragon boat race is quite similar to the vallam kali from Kerala, pothichoru meals are similar to Nasi Lemak. Which reminds me of the most important lesson this year – I can’t cook to save my life; God bless peanut butter sandwiches.




IMG_7192_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Aishwarya, a 20-something year old figuring out her path. I am currently working at an investment bank  I dream of a better world, and like writing about it. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page